• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

GTR fare evasion for 5 months

BD223

Hi all, I know I’ve been so stupid, so I have was caught shorting my fare from Gatwick to London victoria today. I have been doing it for around 4-5 months at this point both ways going and return. I have been handed a slip from GTR and was told to wait up to 14 days for a letter, and if I felt respond to the letter that I may be prosecuted. I have been given a ticket before regarding the situation and I paid upfront on the day £65. Do you have any advice on the situation anything would be greatly appreciated. Just for more context I travel to and from around 3/4 times a week.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Sultan

You will need to provide more details I'm afraid. What tickets have you actually been purchasing from where to where? If GTR connect all the dots of your past purchasing history, expect to have to pay a significant sum. But until they write to you, we can only guess what action you will need to take. Prepare for the worst (court appearance) and gather a much information as possible yourself to better prepare yourself to respond. You don't have to incriminate yourself.

And definitely purchase the correct ticket for your entire journey from now on. You need to demonstrate that you won't do it again.

Until then..............

BD223